Core Skills


We offer the Core Skills qualifications from Access 3 levels to Intermediate 2 (SCQF Levels 3 to 5). 

The 5 Core Skills as defined by the SQA are:

  • Communication
  • Numeracy
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Working with Others
  • Problem Solving

They have been identified as the generic skills essential in the workplace. Learners may already have some degree of these skills but require accreditation in order to progress to further qualifications. Core Skills can also often be embedded within a unit or course.  Oaks Training assess all our learners skills sets to confirm what they already have or to identify any gaps that need to be addressed. We can then work with that learner to enhance their skills and register them for the appropriate programme.

Click on the Core Skills link for more information about each subject :